February 11, 2012

Strong Finish Gives Wrestling a 31-12 Win Over Davidson

Davidson, N.C. – After trading victories through the first six bouts, The Citadel wrestling team captured the final four matches of the afternoon to secure a 31-12 Southern Conference victory over host Davidson Saturday afternoon at Belk Arena. The Bulldogs improve to 7-8 overall and 3-2 in the SoCon and will travel to face Campbell Friday evening in Buies Creek, N.C. at 6:00 p.m.

Richard Alarcon picked up his second win of the weekend, notching a 6-2 decision over Matt Zarth at 125 pounds. Davidson evened the match with a decision at 133 as Anthony Elias doubled up Kyle Casaletto 8-4. Jordan Dix moved the Bulldogs ahead by four points with an 11-3 major decision at 141 over Ben Hartshorn, but Davidson took a 9-7 lead after the following match, as Kevin Birmingham pinned Shane Lee at the 1:48 mark.

The Bulldogs regained the lead at 157, as Pierre Frazile stopped Dan Hagemann 1:01 into the first period for a 13-9 advantage that The Citadel would not relinquish. Tyler Mullen cut Davidson's deficit to 13-12 with a 4-1 decision over Mike Harper at 165, but the Bulldogs won the final four matches in convincing fashion to seal the win.

Turtogtokh Luvsandorj won the first of three straight major decisions for The Citadel at 174 out-classing Chris Cirenza 13-4, while Josh Tuck followed up with a 12-2 victory over Ian Solcz at 184. Kelby Smith improved to 30-7 overall on the season with a 13-2 victory over Eddie Isola and No. 15 Odie Delaney faced an empty mat at heavyweight, picking up a forfeit and closing the scorebook for the Bulldogs. The Bulldogs' victory kept The Citadel at a perfect 49-0-0 against Davidson on the mat.

The Citadel (7-8, 3-2 SoCon) vs. Davidson (3-12, 0-4 SoCon)
            Match Summary
125         Richard Alarcon (The Citadel) won by decision over Matt Zarth (Davidson) 6-2; CIT leads 3-0
133         Anthony Elias (Davidson) won by decision over Kyle Casaletto (The Citadel) 8-4; Tied 3-3
141         Jordan Dix (The Citadel) won by major decision over Benjamin Hartshorn (Davidson) 11-3; CIT leads 7-3
149         Kevin Birmingham (Davidson) won by pin over Shane Lee (The Citadel) 1:48; DAV leads 9-7
157         Pierre Frazile (The Citadel) won by pin over Dan Hagemann (Davidson) 1:01; CIT leads 13-9
165         Tyler Mullen (Davidson) won by decision over Mike Harper (The Citadel) 4-1; CIT leads 13-12
174         Turtogtokh Luvsandorj (The Citadel) won by major decision over Christopher Cirenza (Davidson) 13-4; CIT leads 17-12
184         Josh Tuck (The Citadel) won by major decision over Ian Solcz (Davidson) 12-2; CIT leads 21-12
197         Kelby Smith (The Citadel) won by major decision over Eddie Isola (Davidson) 13-2; CIT leads 25-12
285         No. 15 Odie Delaney (The Citadel) won by forfeit; CIT wins 31-12

For more information on Bulldog Wrestling, visit the official website of The Citadel Athletics at www.CitadelSports.com.


View: Mobile | Desktop