January 26, 2013

Bulldogs Head to Chattanooga for Sunday Afternoon Grapple with the Mocs

Charleston, S.C. – The Citadel wrestling team will travel to Chattanooga for a Sunday afternoon battle with the defending Southern Conference champion Mocs. Matches are slated to begin at 2 p.m. in Maclellan Gymnasium.

The Citadel (3-4, 2-1 SoCon) is looking for its third conference win of the season and first against UTC since the 2004 season. Chattanooga (4-6) will be the last of the SoCon's eight teams to compete in its conference opener.

There are two possible individual rematches from last year's dual, based on the probable lineups.  Odie Delaney will look for this fourth career win against Kevin Malone as the redshirt senior has topped the UTC grappler in each of their previous three meetings, including a 9-0 major decision in the finals bout of the 2012 conference championship.

In the 184-pound match, Josh Tuck looks to avenge an 8-6 overtime loss to Robert Prigmore suffered in the Hokie Open earlier this season.

A much anticipated rematch is probable in the 141-pound division as No. 8 Ugi Khishignyam is expected to be pegged against UTC's Dean Pavlou. Ugi topped the defending 141-pound conference champion in the Hokie Open back on Nov. 4.

Joaquin Marquez will take on his second ranked wrestler in a row as he is slated to face No. 19 Nick Soto in the 125-pound bout. Marquez fell to 28th-ranked Anthony Montoya in a 4-0 decision on Wednesday in the Bulldogs' 25-13 loss to Campbell.

A link for FREE live stats coverage is available on the schedule page at www.citadelsports.com. Chattanooga will supply a live video stream for the price of $8.95 at the following link.

125:  Joaquin Marquez (11-12) or Steven Cox (4-12)
133:  Aaron Hansen (14-13)
141:  No. 8 Ugi Khishignyam (27-3) or Drew Ferguson (0-1)
149:  Jordan Dix (13-12)
157:  Matt Frisch (19-11)
165:  Vincent Bellaran (8-8)
174:  Jack Duane (8-15) or Jared Hemmings (5-9)
184:  Josh Tuck (4-11)
197:  Marshall Haas (12-13)
285:  No. 14 Odie Delaney (25-7)

125:  No. 19 Nick Soto (17-6)
133:  Marvin Lopez (7-7) or Alex Ward (1-3)
141:  Dean Pavlou (16-10)
149:  Alex Hudson – (5-5)
157:  Trey Stavrum (7-12)
165:  Josh Condon (3-5)/John Lampe (8-10)
174:  Jake Young (7-10)
184:  Robert Prigmore (6-10)/T.J. Holmes (4-5)
197:  No. 18 Niko Brown (20-3)
285:  Kevin Malone (11-7)

View: Mobile | Desktop